Jessica’s First Day at Her New Job

Today I started a new job. I now work in the East Campus Library at JMU as an Administrative Assistant. I walked into my new office and there is a pot of flowers for me! What a wonderful welcome! I got an email from another Administrative Assistant in a different department in the building offering her assistance if I needed it! I haven’t even gotten to meet her yet. My new co-workers seem happy and relaxed and that is pretty awesome. It is a good thing I started this week, because next week classes start and it will get busy! Also today, my mom sent me flowers which her boyfriend delivered from Bridgewater to my building! I missed him, but that was so nice! I think she’s pretty excited for me since she hasn’t sent me flowers before. Then my new boss took me out to lunch and a few of my new co-workers came too. What a wonderful, busy day!

My main responsibility is to be Building Coordinator. I have done a lot of this work before, but now I am responsible for all of it. So, I have a lot of training coming up. Tomorrow, I am fortunate to work with the previous Administrative Assistant who will be able to show me what goes where and how to do things. I feel pretty lucky that I don’t have to figure it out myself. Then I get to be shown the ropes of the other two departments in the building, Center for Instructional Technology and Center for Faculty Innovation. Everyone is so friendly and helpful! I really think this will be a great opportunity for me.

Also, because I am going to be using different programs than I used to (because I didn’t need to use them) I have signed up for a few technology workshops. And because I am Building Coordinator and have not taken but one of the classes for that, I will be completing what is left of the workshop series on that for the year. Hopefully, they will offer everything again and I will get to finish the entire program.

Overall, I had a great first day and really look forward to the rest of the week!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Jessica’s First Day at Her New Job

  1. Congratulations on your first day!! It sounds like a great office for you and a great move to have made. I’m so excited for you!!!

Leave a Reply

