Homemade Poptarts

I have really been trying to make more of my own food. Yes, Sean does most of the cooking for dinners and such, but I want to make my own snack food too. So many preservatives are in most of the food that you buy now a days, that I would rather know what is in my food. So, I have a few projects coming up, including granola bars, popcorn, and fruit leather! Be we are here to talk about poptarts, or toaster pastries.

First of all, I did not come up with this on my own…and I’m not sure why I went looking for it. But I found a few blogs that have the information on them. Many give recipes for the dough as well, but I buy the pre-made pie dough (for now, at least). I came across Smitten Kitchen  recently and I have a feeling that it will be a frequent stop for me. But also, Planet Green had a link to a bunch of make-your-own snack foods.

Here it goes: Smitten Kitchen had the most comprehensive list of filling possibilities and she has great photos to walk you through. One thing I don’t think she mentioned was that you can roll the dough pretty thin. If you don’t, then you’ll get a lot of pastry and not a lot of filling and the pastry starts to pull away a bit.

  • If you are using store bought dough, roll it out to a square or rectangle and make your cuts for the size of your tarts. I got 6 tarts (12 rectangles) from one sheet of dough.
  • Put in your filling and (this is the hardest part) seal the edges. You may want to stretch the bottom piece of dough a bit to wrap it around the edge to really get a seal. Not sure if it’s just me, but the fork trick does not work for me! Also, poke holes in the top to let steam escape.
  • Bake 20-25 minutes in a 350 degree oven, then cool on racks.
  • After they cool you can add a little icing on top by adding drops of milk to powdered sugar until you get the consistency you want.

These have apple filling. I used the food processor to puree 1 cored and sliced green apple with ~1 1/2 T of honey and ~ 1/2 t cinnamon. But you can do that to taste. I made 6 tarts with that and there was still some left over.

Adapted From Smitten Kitchen
Leave a Reply

