Harrisonburg Citizen Academy Graduation!

The Harrisonburg Citizen Academy was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone. Knowing how your city works and understanding where your money goes is something that most people seem to not think twice about or just argue without really knowing what is going on.

It is 12 weeks long plus one Saturday that is optional. I believe that you need to go to 9 of the 12 classes to “graduate” and get your certificate and City of Harrisonburg pin.

Another reason I participated is because I’m interested in community outreach and what people are interested in learning. And of course it’s a great way to meet people! I made a few new friends that are my age and you can never know too many people. Just the other day I saw a man who was in my Citizens Police Academy class, he was too far away, but I would have no problem going up and say “hi” and catching up.

Miriam does a wonderful job making sure that everything runs smoothly. I’m sure it takes a lot of time on her part and the part of all the people that presented and took the time in their evenings and a Saturday to educate us citizens. So, this is a huge heartfelt “Thank You!” to all those who helped us learn more about the City. I think we all have a greater understanding of the backbone of the City.

I had a wonderful time and encourage you to apply for next year!

Some friends from Citizen Academy… (once I get the group shot, I will post it)

One thought on “Harrisonburg Citizen Academy Graduation!

  1. Pingback: Why participate in Citizen Academy? | Life's Craziness

Leave a Reply

