British State of Mind

If you’ve been following along, I’m about 5 1/2 months away from moving to Bristol, England. The date is not nailed down because we don’t know when classes or orientation starts. I just sent an email asked those questions though. We are HOPING to be on the August 22 departure of the Queen Mary 2 headed for England. Again, we’ll have to see.

First of all, you may be wondering why we are taking a ship. First reason, less stressful than flying. Second, we can each take 2 large bags with us. Third, same cost as a flight but nicer, less stress, and lots of good food! And we can still take the train into Bristol.

So, anyway, we’ve both been in a British state of mind recently. For example, we have no problem speaking of pounds instead of dollars when appropriate. Also, I have been looking up fun things to do like ice skating, skiing, and theatre options. Basically, things I hear about people doing here and now, I’m looking up for there and then.

I’m excited, to say the least. But also very nervous. The timeline may be narrower than I had hoped regarding the loans and visas. But we are going to figure it all out very soon so that when I get my award letter in May, we will be ready to go on the next step. If I have to have loan money in the bank for 28 days, then by golly as soon as I get the letter, I’ll be on the phone about a loan and getting it in the bank ASAP. We have to do what we have to do!

This should make for a wonderful chapter in our lives and we are so thrilled about it. We are also excited to share that adventure with you. So, be sure we will keep up with the blog throughout the whole process.  Then when we get there, we will let you know what’s going on. So much to do until then, so off I go!

Posted in UK

Leave a Reply

