Couponing

I heard about this show called Extreme Couponing on TLC. I don’t have cable and it wasn’t easy to find somewhere online to watch it, but I did. I don’t have to watch the series to understand that I want to start couponing. I am not an extreme couponer by their standards and probably won’t be (if I will ever be) anytime soon.

It did take me a while to understand the stockpile idea. Now, the show highlights the extreme of the extremes, but the concept is simple. You get how ever many coupons you can, and you stockpile when things are on sale. This stockpile is designed to last you until the good sale/coupon deal happens again. Some good way overboard and buy things they don’t need (like diapers and they don’t have babies). But if you stick with what you will use, it’s a wonderful idea.

This week, my plan is to print as many Stouffer’s coupons from their website as I can. Kroger had a sale last week that I took advantage of which was buy 10 frozen foods and get $5 off. Add $1 off coupons to each product, you get $15 off total. We’ll see if it works out, but that’s the plan right now. I’m also keeping my eyes out for really cheap or free toiletries that I can get and give away to Mercy House or First Step. What’s better than giving back?

My favorite websites for this so far are Krazy Coupon Lady, Common Sense with Money, and Frugal Couple Living. They each have a coupon database which is super helpful-I like the Krazy Coupon Lady one for current printables, and the other two seem to have a similar database where you can look for a coupon and see when it came out but isn’t available anymore. Also, Krazy Coupon Lady has a great beginner section. I would start there.

My absolute favorite is Krazy Coupon Lady because of all the resources they offer. They explain how to get the most out of each store and they have videos explaining what a catalina is and how they organize their coupons.

Coupon secrets I’ve learned:

  • If there’s a BOGO free sale and you have a BOGO free coupon, you get both free!
  • If there’s a BOGO free sale and you have (2) $1 coupons, you can use both-1 for each product.
  • Many stores now have printable coupons on their site, you can use those coupon AND a manufacturers coupon together on one product.
  • Walmart matches sales and coupons that have an item for a specific dollar amount from other stores. Does not include coupons for $ or % off.
  • And learn the sale cycles

Hopefully this has inspired you to save a little bit of money. And if you find some things that you might not use but is super cheap or free, consider donating. Good luck!

One thought on “Couponing

  1. Pingback: How to Get Things for Free « Sean and Jess's Blog

Leave a Reply

