Chocolate Cupcake Tour of DC?

I think YES! (At least in Georgetown)

We took at day-trip to Georgetown to get out of the area and do something a bit spontaneous. I was shocked that Sean wanted to go up there considering he’s in northern Virginia all the time now. ( I feel so sorry for him!) Anyway, of course he knows about my love of these small cakes and thought I would enjoy myself in Georgetown, where there are THREE cupcake shops pretty close together. I love this man!

We visited Baked and Wired, Georgetown Cupcake, and Spinkles. I always get the chocolate on chocolate cupcakes so I’m comparing apples to apples (so to speak!).

Baked and Wired

Chocolate Cupcake of Doom

This is a very tall cupcake that, I believe, is wrapped in parchment paper. It had a very rich and deep chocolate flavor but you can’t actually bite into it. It takes two bites to get from the top to the bottom of this cupcake. The frosting is a fudgy frosting but it’s still a little bit creamy, and that I appreciate! This place had the best cupcake names! Just had to throw that in there : )

Georgetown Cupcake

Georgetown Cupcake Top: Choc Salted Caramel, Vanilla2, Red Velvet. Bottom: Toasted Marshmallow Fudge, Chocolate2, Chocolate3

Georgetown Cupcakes are smaller than the other two, mainly because they are flat cupcakes. The price is a little lower for that too, so that’s nice I guess.

Chocolate2

(Bottom middle)

This cupcake is very rich. Good, but rich. I didn’t realize that it wasn’t a milk chocolate buttercream. It’s a whipped chocolate frosting; I’m guessing it’s between a ganache and a buttercream. But it was a little much and I wasn’t sure I could finish it. The cake was nice and moist and very tasty but denser than I was expecting.

I overheard someone else saying that they preferred the milk chocolate, but there’s no chocolate on chocolate milk chocolate cupcake. There is a milk chocolate buttercream on a vanilla cake.

Chocolate3

(Bottom right)

Much more balanced than the Chocolate2 cupcake. Just that little bit of ganache works very well. And who doesn’t love small sprinkles? I do. I would get this one over Chocolate2 any day. Second favorite of the just chocolate cupcakes.

Toasted Marshmallow Fudge *Specialty for January*

(Bottom left)

Amazing. Best cupcake overall. The marshmallow buttercream on top cut the richness of the chocolate cake and is just the perfect combination.

Sprinkles

Sprinkles Milk Chocolate Cupcake

Milk Chocolate

Also sized in a regular cupcake cup, this cake had a dome and therefore did not have as much frosting. I just barely fits in your mouth…rather, MY mouth. I really enjoyed the milk chocolate cream cheese frosting. But the cake was slightly, very slightly, drier than the others. I think it’s my favorite of the four just chocolate cupcakes.

Other pictures from our trip…

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcake Tour of DC?

Leave a Reply

