Make Your Own Instant Oatmeal

To help with keeping our budget, we want to get better at making some of our own food staples. One of mine is my morning oatmeal. I found a wonderful recipe at Once A Month Mom, which is an amazing website. The original recipe is for oatmeal “packets”. I don’t like to use baggies, so the recipe below is the same as the one at Once A Month Mom, it’s just multiplied by 10. I keep it in a Rubbermaid container that I already had and leave a 1/4 cup measuring cup in the container.

Instant Oatmeal

2 1/2 cups Quick Cooking Oats
3 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon Powdered Milk
1 1/8 teaspoons Salt
1/2 cup Sugar

Pour hot water over (to your thickness liking) and let stand for 1 min before eating.

NOTES: I used dark brown sure and I really like it. It does clump a bit, but works fine once your put the hot water in the bowl. Also, I tend to add one “shake” of cinnamon to each 1/4 cup serving. I think most people would eat a 1/2 cup serving. We bought the quick cooking oats at Sharp Shopper and we bought organic.

Leave a Reply

