2013 In Review

This has been a whirlwind of a year. We did a lot even though sometimes it seems like we don’t get out much! So, here’s a run-down of our 2013.

Sean and Jess Ice Skating

Sean and Jess Ice Skating

One of the first outings we had was to go ice skating in Charlottesville! It was Sean’s first time and the last time I was able to go was in college, so it was quite the experience. Sean used to be a huge roller-blader so he took to it very quickly. I just took my time since I wasn’t very stable. Though, of course I was angry that I got rid of my skates last year because I wasn’t using them! I hate the rental skates, but it was a really fun and funny time!

In February BBQ Exchange had their annual Porkapoolza and we just HAD to go! A friend had went last year and recommended it. There was SO MUCH FOOD! We highly recommend this experience and it is an amazing price.

Andrew Zimmern

Andrew Zimmern

We were so excited to go to the Travel & Adventure Show in D. C. this year. There was a lot of information no matter where you wanted to travel to, but there were also speakers and performances. We mostly went to see Rick Steves and Andrew Zimmern speak, and even went to Zimmern’s special after-hours show where we tried some things that I wouldn’t normally try! We will go again this coming year to see Samantha Brown!

After the week of Inauguration (at work) Sean and I got away for a few days just outside of Asheville. We loved the AirBnB we stayed in and it was just a short drive into Asheville. Unfortunately it was rainy while we were there, but it was still a great getaway!

Sean playing baseball

Sean playing baseball

In the spring Sean got onto a baseball league in Charlottesville and I have to say that it was awesome watch him interact with the team and play the game. Seeing him do something that brings him joy just made my year. He is quite the batter!

Photo Table in the British Embassy

Photo Table in the British Embassy (Click to really see picures)

In May, embassys in D.C. get together and have a couple weekends of open houses. We were able to go to the E.U. in the U.S.A. weekend but lines were long so we got to see 5 embassys, then hid in an Elevation Burger for a bit to rest! It is an awesome and FREE program that even supplies shuttles. We hope to go to the non-E.U. one this year since I work during the E.U. open house.

My brother graduated high school in June and started at BC in August! Being exactly 10 years behind me is so unreal. But I am so excited for him to grow as a person in a way that he can’t even begin to imagine. So proud of you!

Iceland (Blue Lagoon)

Iceland (Blue Lagoon)

Sean and Jessica in Amsterdam

Sean and Jessica in Amsterdam

Brugge, Belguim

Brugge, Belguim

Of course our Europe trip was the highlight of the year! There’s so much to say about that trip and at some point we will get it all down and on our travel blog http://www.awanderlustforlife.com. It was full of food, walking, wandering, exhaustion, frustration, fun, and water! LOVED IT!

Nick Carter, BSB

Nick Carter, BSB

A highlight of my August was going to the Backstreet Boys concert! I was at the fence in the pit and it was so freaking awesome! I hope to have that experience again sometime. Amazing. Seriously.

Plains Mill Cask Kickers

Plains Mill Cask Kickers

This year we got involved in kickball and it seemed that Sean and I would trade off on which games we could actually play. But it was a great team and we had a lot of fun and met great people!

Toronto Skyline

Toronto Skyline

Sean traveled quite a bit for work this year, he went to London and Amsterdam, and he had been traveling to Toronto a few times as well (in 2012), so he wanted to take me there this year! On Halloween we flew to Toronto thanks to a great price on the flight. Again, we walked, a lot. But we also ate great food and visited a friend. Otherwise it was a pretty chill trip. Glad I finally got there though! I loved that Sean knew some of the areas and where to find good food.

Jessica with HPD Officers

Jessica with HPD Officers

I love experiencing new places and activities with Sean. We’ve been together for over 1/3 of my life so growing together is very important. We have such fun! Some of the things that I was able to get involved in/attend this year were the Cici’s Pizza Night with HFD, lunch at the Mid-Atlantic Burn Camp, National Night Out (photo above), watching the S.W.A.T. competition that HPD hosts, and helping at the D.A.R.E. Second Home Christmas event.

Of course, we got in our share of wineries this year (there’s just so many!), and parades. But some of our best times are just hanging out with friends! The other HUGE thing we got done this year, is all of our paperwork is in for Italian dual citizenship. If all is approved, we have some big decisions to make. I don’t expect everything to go perfectly since it doesn’t normally, but at the very least, Sean should get his citizenship and I should be able to get a visa while I wait for a decision, and hopefully we can move to Amsterdam and Sean can work for his current company there.  These are big dreams with decisions to be made much higher up than us, but we are hoping and wishing and doing what we can to make it happen! So, hopefully our year-in-review next year will be written from Amsterdam, The Netherlands. (We have pretty much fallen in love with the place)

Thank you to all our family, friends, and puppies who have made this year so awesome.

Sean and Jessica

Sean and Jessica

Leave a Reply

