The Big 3-0

 

Turning 30

I have officially been on this planet for three decades…three! It bothered me for a while, but then I thought about so many different reasons why it is amazing.

  • I’m still alive. YAY me!
  • I have some of my own life secrets figured out (plenty more to get through)
  • I think I spent my 20’s well. No regrets.
  • Hopefully I have plenty more time left on this planet!
  • It’s a milestone that makes you think about what you really want out of life

I wrote a post about my birthday party on A Wanderlust For Life and you can read it there. But I wanted to take a more personal direction with the post on this site. This is my quiet place on the internet, where A Wanderlust For Life is my baby, my brand, so I’ll keep the mushy stuff here.

Birthday Cards

This year was amazing, scary, fun, insane, and so many other things. It was just over a year ago we decided to move to Amsterdam. Though we had a plan in place, it fell through. That’s life. But things worked out and we’re still here. Now that I am 30, I am taking stock in what helps me grow, what makes me happy, who is supportive and shows me love.

My life is good. I am happy. Yes, I pretty much always show the good side of things and not the frustrations. Some things can be nerve-wracking whether they should be or not. I hate that I’m not fluent in Dutch and even more annoyed that I’m not trying as hard as I should. I know I need to register with a doctor and dentist but it seems so daunting. It hurts when I reach out to people back home but they don’t seem to reach back. Some days it’s annoying to have to go to the store because you have to go every 2-3 days…on a bike…maybe in the rain. And yes, four flights of stairs to get to my apartment gets old.

BUT, I am working on my Dutch however slowly it may be. I have access to good healthcare even if their philosophies are different than I am used to. I still love those who don’t reach back out and am grateful that they have been in my life. And you know, biking and stairs are good for me.

Birthday Group

As far as my birthday and my party went, the most all-encompassing thing I can say is that I am grateful. Grateful for the friends that came and shared in a great afternoon. Grateful for gifts, which I really wasn’t expecting! Grateful that a few people even took my camera and got some photos I wouldn’t have remembered to get. Grateful for the cards I received in the mail and all the Facebook love. I cherish all of you. Truly. Whether we talk much or not. Each of you has contributed to make me who I am today, and I can’t thank you enough for your love and friendship. You are all so special!

Leave a Reply

